Fight Spam! Click Here!
Midnight Whispers
Queer as Folk fan fiction - Brian and Justin
>
Reviewer: vlsope2@yahoo.com (Anonymous) · Date: January 18, 2014 04:36 PM · On: Alright

I couldn't believe this was your first story, well written and wonderful details. You picked a heavy topic but you brought many ideas of the treatment and Justin's ordeal. thank you.



Author's Response:

Thanks :-) I'm very glad you enjoyed this story. When I started writing B/J fiction, I was really into the protective!Brian verse, and this subject seemed to fit well with what I wanted to express. It still seems a little rough around the edges to me, but it was my first attempt and I like it for that :-) Thanks again for reading and for your lovely review!

Reviewer: Saskya (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2013 04:00 PM · On: Alright

nice story. thanks



Author's Response:

I'm really glad you enjoyed it :-) This was actually the first QaF fic I ever wrote, way back in 2007 *g* Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderfil review. It means a lot :-)

Reviewer: Al (Anonymous) · Date: March 12, 2013 07:17 PM · On: Abide With Me

wow!



Author's Response:

I'm thrilled you thoughts so ;-) Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful review!

Reviewer: Al (Anonymous) · Date: March 12, 2013 05:29 PM · On: White and the Colour Within

Good story



Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading :)

Reviewer: Al (Anonymous) · Date: March 12, 2013 06:30 AM · On: Alright

Sad that Justin has cancer.

Funny story! You did a great job of writing.



Author's Response:

Thanks :-) I'm glad you enjoyed it. This was actually the very first B/J story I ever attempted (I have written over 35 now) - it seems a long time ago now! Thanks again for reading and for your wonderful comment. It means a lot :-)

Reviewer: Shauna (Anonymous) · Date: December 20, 2012 03:40 PM · On: Abide With Me

This chapter literally made me cry. 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you found it so meaningful :-) Thanks so much for reading, and again for your lovely review. I appreciate  it so much!

Reviewer: Shauna (Anonymous) · Date: December 20, 2012 03:08 PM · On: Alright

I could not tell this was ur first story. Not by a long shot. Well done



Author's Response:

Aw, thanks Shauna :-) I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful comment. It means a lot.

Reviewer: no sleep (Anonymous) · Date: November 02, 2012 07:02 AM · On: Alright

I got home late at night needing to take my mind off of a rough day and decided to read a little QAF. I made the mistake of reading an irritating story that left me wanting to bleach my brain. You are one of the writers I can count on that would always work as a balm for bad day or bad story.

I was surprised I had not read this one. Justin dancing around the office was hilarious. I thought this was excellent to be an first fic. I see that you were really into the Justin/cancer thing. The thing I love about these stories is that Brian is so caring and loving. Oh, Justin on the bathroom floor and Brian reaming him out for it on the phone once was also priceless.

Excellent job!

Sandra:)

Author's Response:

Thanks Sandra *hugs* I'm glad this story was able to help you relax a little :-)

'Alright' was the first QaF story I ever wrote - and it shows. Occasionally I've been tempted to revise this story to make it a little less fluffy, but I decided to leave it 'as is' because it was my inaugural fanfic. At the time, I was very much into the idea of protective!Brian, which I suppose it why the 'Justin with cancer' series arose. This was also before I'd really learned to appreciated the complexity of Brian's character - I had yet to see seasons three and five when I started writing in the fandom in 2007, which is where a lot of Brian's inner character really comes out. Still, I like parts of this story and I'm so glad you enjoyed them as well!

Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful comment, as always :-)

Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: October 21, 2012 08:54 PM · On: White and the Colour Within

 I wanted a weed...

I love the analogy. I had to get away from the anorexic stories for a while and decided to explore this Justin cancer fic. I must have read this some time ago and don't know if I reviewed it at that time. I was such a lurker, initially, LOL.

I have just finished reading Between the Crosses again and found myself looking for Lionheart in this fic. This is a different Justin born of different circumstances. I find it interesting that you started this fic at the point of after Justin has left Ethan. It makes Brian's involvement all the more special. Justin's anxiety is twofold because of his guilt over leaving Brian and then having cancer. Angst galore.



Author's Response:

Hey Sandra :-) Once again, my profuse apologies for not getting to your wonderful comments this week. I promise, promise, promise I will - they all mean so much to me :-) It's just that I'm having a bit of a struggle wrangling my work and... well, pretty much any other aspect of my life into the same space together. *sigh* In any case, thank you so much for your wonderful comment on this story. I wrote it over five years ago now - it was the very first multi-chaptered story I ever wrote. At that point, I was hugely into protective!Brian and a Justin-with-cancer theme seemed to be an ideal platform upon which to explore this. If I wrote it again, I would make Justin a stronger character and Brian a little less open in his affection, but I think perhaps I got the dynamic right for a first pass ;-) You're right in that this is a very different Justin than the one in 'Between the Crosses'. That Justin had a much harsher past and a heavier load to bear... but this Justin's load is not exactly a feather weight either. As you say, he's having to deal with the duel burdens of anxiety over Ethan and guilt over leaving Brian... Isn't angst fun? *g*

Thanks again for your wonderful comment, and my apologies again for being so sluggish in getting back to them. I can only promise you that I will, for sure :-) *hugs*

 

Reviewer: nor (Anonymous) · Date: September 12, 2012 06:47 PM · On: Abide With Me

Great story, im just a little sad it doesnt have a sequel. It would be nice to know how their life will return to normal after all the hardships.

But thanx for sharing this story with us :) 



Author's Response:

Thanks again, Nor :-) I'm thrilled that you enjoyed this story! A sequel might have been nice, but I guess one of my fanfic writing 'signatures' is to leave stories about illnesses open-ended. Expecting a 'happily ever after' isn't realistic, and after these experiences, their lives will never return to the way they were before. They can't. But there is that feeling of hope that life will get better and that they'll find a new 'normal'. I kind of like to think of the end of this story as a beginning, not as an end ;-)

Thanks again for reading, and for taking the time to leave this wonderful review. It means a lot :-)

 

Reviewer: nor (Anonymous) · Date: September 12, 2012 02:39 PM · On: Abide With Me

Hello, i hope you still get this review, bec. i saw the last one was submitted 4 years ago.

I just wanted to say that this story is amazing. As i rewatched QAF a week ago and reached season 4 where Brian got cancer, I was  thinking what would happen if the situation was reversed? so I searched in google in hope for a fanfic, and not only i found one, i found a GREAT ONE!! Its only the first chapter but the last words made me really happy inside. It was so Brian. 

There are some B/J fics where the names are the same but the characteristics are different from the main story, so eventually i loose interest but in this one i can almost see them as they are living in my mind :D thank you :D

ps: sorry if my english is bad, i still get confused about the tenses and other stuff



Author's Response:

Hi Nor! Thanks for your wonderful review. I'm actually still an active fanfiction writer - the stories on my profile here are arranged alphabetically, not by date. I actually posted my most recent story here last week :-)

I'm so glad you enjoyed this story! (I'm amused that you found it through Google - I wouldn't expect it to turn up there! *g*) When I started writing fanfic, I was really into the hurt/comfort genre. I'd really liked the cancer arch in the show, but I always wished that they'd done more with it. It could have given us such great insight into Brian's character. So I decided to explore it myself, but this time having it be Justin who was the one with cancer. I'm really glad you found the characters to be ICC - I can get into Brian's head pretty easily, but I always worry that my Justin is not always right. I'm glad you think he is ;-)

Thanks again for reading and for your wonderful review. It means a lot and I appreciate it so much :-)

P.S. Your English is almost flawless! I wouldn't know it wasn't your first language if you hadn't mentioned it!

Reviewer: Christinalin (Signed) · Date: June 30, 2012 05:52 PM · On: White and the Colour Within

Awww this is really sweet :) i like it :). 

 

 



Author's Response:

Thanks :-) I'm so thrilled you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for reading and for your wonderful review. It means a lot :-)

Reviewer: yvonnereid (Signed) · Date: November 15, 2011 10:20 PM · On: White and the Colour Within

Your story is very well written,I enjoyed it alot.I am off to read the sequel now :)

 



Author's Response:

Thanks Yvonne! I'm really glad you liked this story - it was the second B/J fic I ever wrote. (I had a big cancer!fetish at that point...) I really hope you'll like 'Abide with Me' as well. Thanks so much for reading, and for your wonderful review. As always *hugs*

Reviewer: ColorLet23 (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2011 10:23 PM · On: Alright

Even after all these years, I just want to say that I am still in love with this story!!!



Author's Response:

And I'm so thrilled you are :-) This was my very first B/J fic *is nostalgic*, and it does seem like a long time ago - July 2007. I'm so happy that you still enjoy it. Thanks so much for reading, and for your very wonderful review. *hugs*

Reviewer: JustBeAQueen (Signed) · Date: June 28, 2011 02:11 AM · On: Alright

Awesome! Beautiful and Perfect! Or in the inevitable and immortal words of Brian Kinney: not bad! 



Author's Response:

I'm very glad you enjoyed it! This was the very first fic I ever write, so I'm thrilled it gets a Brian Kinney "not bad" ;-) Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful review. It means a lot :-D

Reviewer: undercontrol (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2011 11:50 PM · On: White and the Colour Within

The most beautiful fanfic ever written. I have read this story multiple times and everytime I read it, it breaks and mends my heart. Amazing story.



Author's Response:

Yikes! I can't beleive I missed this wonderful comment!! *facepalm* Well, I just want you to know now that it means a lot to me, so thank you so much. I'm so thrilled that you enjoy this story so much. Thank you again for reading, and for your must wonderful comment. My profound aplogies for not relying to this sooner...

Reviewer: Jenny (Anonymous) · Date: February 11, 2011 08:46 PM · On: White and the Colour Within

Thank you so much for this amazing and beautiful story. Great use of colors, I love it.

I can see the rainbow too! :)



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed this story, and that you enjoyed the use of the colours :) Thanks so much for reading and for all of your wonderful reviews. They really mean a lot :-D

Reviewer: Jenny (Anonymous) · Date: February 11, 2011 08:31 PM · On: White and the Colour Within

Yeah I agree, Justin is Brians "Fucking Wonder".



Author's Response:

LOL ;-) I think I would have to agree with Brian on this one, too. But we can't forget that Brian is a 'fucking wonder', too ;)

Reviewer: Jenny (Anonymous) · Date: February 11, 2011 08:16 PM · On: White and the Colour Within

Oh my God, Justin is so brave and so is Brian. I'm off to the next chapter.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you're still enjoying it ;-) Thanks so much for your reviews on the chapters. I appreciate it so much. 

Reviewer: Jenny (Anonymous) · Date: February 11, 2011 08:04 PM · On: White and the Colour Within

Thank God Justin isn't alone in this and Brian is there for him for support.



Author's Response:

I've always had a little bit of a fetish for protective!Brian. It's great when Brian hows how much he really cares :)

Reviewer: Jenny (Anonymous) · Date: February 11, 2011 07:55 PM · On: White and the Colour Within

Of course Brian cares and is a little scared, just like Justin.



Author's Response:

I know I would be scared if I were Brian, and if I care about someone as much as he cared about Justin :)

Reviewer: Jenny (Anonymous) · Date: February 11, 2011 07:37 PM · On: White and the Colour Within

Daphne is such a good friend to Justin.

Yeah, Brian should know!



Author's Response:

I've always though the friendship between Justin and Daphne, and the way Brian and Daphne interact, to be very interesting. Daphne is a great friend to Justin. She always wants what's best for him - Brian, in this case. Thanks again for reading and for your wonderful review! 

Reviewer: Jenny (Anonymous) · Date: February 11, 2011 07:31 PM · On: White and the Colour Within

I'm already bound. Can't wait for more.



Author's Response:

LOL ;-) I'm glad you're 'hooked' ;-) I hope you enjoy it! Thanks so much for reading and for your comment! 

Reviewer: Bigdogz09 (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2011 03:26 PM · On: Alright

Beautiful story, love the last moment where B carries J out of the building. 

I'm such a fan of your writing.



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed this story! Thanks so much for reading and for your kind words - they really mean a lot ;-)

Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2011 07:51 AM · On: Alright

I can't believe this was your first one.  I can see how this lead to Abide with Me.



Author's Response:

I was a big fan of the caner arch and of protective!Brian ;-) This was the first plot bunny that came to mind when I decided to try my hand at writing fiction instead of just reading it. Thanks so much for reading! :-D

No results found.
Submit a Review